Monday, December 11, 2017

Friday, December 08, 2017

Back Home!


Journal -- We are finally back in our home. Four months ago we had a pipe burst in the piping that led from our downstairs to upstairs, flooding the entire first floor. We lost few possessions, but the first floor was gutted to replace plumbing, air condition ducts, cabinets, some parts of the ceiling, floors, all appliances - large and small. We were fortunate to have just purchased an RV, which became our residence for those long, arduous months as our home was put back together. We moved back in last week, and though we are still working on a punch list and paint issues, it feels wonderful to be back 'home.' I haven't felt much like sketching (though I've kept a daily journal) since I was dealing with contractors and sub-contractors for endless weeks.

We're expected a brief dusting of snow, and as it flies (a bit too warm still to stick and accumulate), it helps brings me a bit of the Christmas spirit that all the moving, cleaning, reorganizing, and general stress, had eroded.

Sunday, November 19, 2017

Marsh


Journal- Sketching the marsh from our trip to the beach last week.

Tuesday, November 14, 2017

Saturday, November 11, 2017

Beach Stones


Journal - This week I had the marvelous opportunity to get away with my painting friends at Topsail Beach, NC. We had two sunny, one cloudy and one mostly rainy day --- but had a great time, and everyone got back to painting. During our beach walks, I became enamored with the beautiful beach stones strewn everywhere - so I painted a small watercolor sketch of several to add to my journal.

Friday, November 03, 2017

Thursday, October 26, 2017

Pumpkins at Duke


Journal - A trip to Duke Gardens - and an small sketch of one of their displays ...

Wednesday, October 18, 2017

Journal - View from our RV, Marion, NC


Journal - Small sketch inspired by the view this weekend at Mountain Stream RV Park, Marion, NC

Monday, September 25, 2017

Friday, September 22, 2017

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

Splash and Splatter Rose Hips


Journal - With the cooler nights and the fall tinting of the roadsides, I was inspired to try another splash and splatter of my rose hips ...

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Wednesday, August 16, 2017

Himalayan Poppies


Journal - I love poppies of all kinds ... those that tend toward blue are even more intriguing ....

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Splash and Splatter - Roses



Journal - Splash and Splatter Roses - practicing another splash and splatter for my upcoming class.

Tuesday, August 01, 2017

Tom's Sunflowers



Journal - My sweet neighbor invited me to paint the flowers he planted, and though I did (I'll post later), these forgotten sunflowers, camouflaged in grasses and weeds, caught my attention.


Sunday, July 09, 2017

California Poppies - Splash and Splatter


Journal -- I love doing splash and splatter - even when the composition isn't the best ... here's my "California Poppies"

Sunday, July 02, 2017

The Marsh


Journal - The Marsh - added to my journal ... Missing those soft salty breezes on this hot humid day .....

Sunday, June 25, 2017

Sunflowers - Splash and Splatter


Journal - Splash and Splatter Sunflowers. This method makes it very challenging to do in a bound journal - thus I will have to staple this small work into my journal.

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Lavender Festival - 2017 - Journal


Journal - A small remembrance of lavender from the Lavender Festival last week ....

Thursday, June 08, 2017

Hay Field


Journal -- Hay fields and hay bales - it's that time of year again -- I love to document the seasons with the natural events going on ... and so, spring returns, and with it, my beloved hay bales ...

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Spring Daisies


Journal - Daisy season -- love how they add brightness to the roadsides!

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Purple and White Iris - Journal


Journal - Purple and White Iris - Examples done for my watercolor class

Tuesday, May 09, 2017

Yellow Fields


Journal - Yellow Fields - This time of year I dash around my county hunting those golden, sunshine-filled fields of mustard and buttercups. I try to capture a few of them for my journal.

Friday, April 28, 2017

Apple Blossoms


Junk/Sketch/Watercolor Journal- Finally getting to post my apple tree blossoms ...

Friday, April 21, 2017

Wednesday, March 29, 2017

Pond at Ledge Creek


Journal - One of the ponds in Ledge Creek Park - filled with duckweed and azolla (a water fern).

Sunday, March 12, 2017

Wren from the Window


Journal - Last week when I went into the garage to get into my car, I heard a bird, singing like crazy -- and so loudly, I thought s/he might have been trapped in the garage. I looked and looked, but when I glanced out the window, I spotted this Carolina wren singing his heart out --- what a cheery fellow!

Wednesday, March 08, 2017



Sunset on the Lake - finished painting for my daughter.




Thursday, March 02, 2017

At the Nursery


Journal - Looking for more spring color, so visited a local plant nursery - sketched these while there.

Friday, February 17, 2017

Saturday, February 11, 2017

Daphne


Journal - Another see-saw of a week, temps falling to 20F at night, rising to 50F and 60F in the daytime. Sat outside and sketched my Sweet Daphne as it begins to bloom...

Thursday, February 02, 2017

Lake at Sunset - Prelim



Journal - a 5 x 7 preliminary painting of a photo my daughter sent - sunset by the lake .... Waiting to hear what size she wants this ....

Friday, January 27, 2017

Farm View


Journal - with all the hubbub lately, I painted a rural farm scene to find a bit of serenity.

Saturday, January 14, 2017

Monday, January 09, 2017

SNOW!!!


Journal - Painting the snow ....snow covering our grasses, trees, roads ....

Monday, January 02, 2017

HAPPY NEW YEAR!


Wishing everyone a joyous, healthy, creative, prosperous and joyous New Year!  Here's to 2017!